Bob!RynthidZerzelikyrAyanAerlintheNeftetgearknightsdarkisleSanctuary

Virindi Tank Nav - method to always start from the top?

Discussion on a variety of topics. Ask general Vtank questions here.
Stip
Posts: 3

Virindi Tank Nav - method to always start from the top?

Post#1 » July 4th, 2018, 12:54 am

Is there a way to load a nav file and ensure that you always start from the top of it? It appears that if I've previously used/loaded a nav file and progressed any amount through it and then stopped, when I load that nav file again it restores my last spot in the list.

My goal is to have an alternate nav file that I can call from a meta if I get stuck in a small side room. Since I don't know where I'm going to get stuck, I can't do a standard "runback" nav.

So I need something that basically does a hard reset - recall back to the top of the dungeon, start from scratch, and try again.

I'm hoping there's an easy way to do this. Otherwise I'm guessing I have to hack something together using "/vt reverseroute" (which doesn't seem to be working - but that could be on my side) and a corresponding meta.

Thanks!
0 x

User avatar
Immortalbob
Site Admin
Posts: 526
Contact:

Re: Virindi Tank Nav - method to always start from the top?

Post#2 » July 4th, 2018, 9:30 am

theres a function in meta called watchdog, it can figure out if you are stuck, and then call a state to unstick yourself (by loading a new nav)
0 x
Immortalbob of MT

Stip
Posts: 3

Re: Virindi Tank Nav - method to always start from the top?

Post#3 » July 4th, 2018, 4:58 pm

Thank you! But... ;)

The stuck detection I think I can handle - and a watchdog sounds like the right way to do it.

The issue is the part where I load a new nav. Sometimes that new nav has been used before - and VTank seems to always "remember" the waypoint that a character last used - even if that waypoint is in the middle of a list.

So even if I create a brand new nav file, if a character uses it, but doesn't run through every single waypoint, it will load the nav and set the startpoint most of the way down the list.

I understand that I may not be describing this well. Let's try this...

NormalNav (number is waypoint placeholder):
1
2
3
4
5
6

Let's say I get stuck on #4 and properly handle that by loading a new nav called FromTheTopNav

FromTheTopNav:
0 Cast Portal Recall
1
2
3
4
5
6

If I've previously used FromTheTopNav and manually stopped/died at...say...#3, it will never start from the Portal Recall. It will load FromTheTopNav and my character will try running to #3 - which will fail because he has to recall and navigate through 1 and 2 first.

So I'm looking for a way to load a nav file and ensure that it always starts at the top. Or a way to "forget" where a character last stopped during a nav.
0 x

User avatar
Immortalbob
Site Admin
Posts: 526
Contact:

Re: Virindi Tank Nav - method to always start from the top?

Post#4 » July 4th, 2018, 9:59 pm

i've never run into it trying to start further down the nav file than the closest nav point...
0 x
Immortalbob of MT

Stip
Posts: 3

Re: Virindi Tank Nav - method to always start from the top?

Post#5 » July 5th, 2018, 12:41 pm

Ok, maybe I'm misreading what's happening. I was not aware that loading a new nav would cause it to magically find the closest spot in that new nav to your current location.

Thank you again!
0 x

User avatar
Immortalbob
Site Admin
Posts: 526
Contact:

Re: Virindi Tank Nav - method to always start from the top?

Post#6 » July 5th, 2018, 1:33 pm

i think the only time it absolutely must start at the first point is during "once" routes, linear and circular should go to the closest point.
1 x
Immortalbob of MT

Return to “VT: General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Login  •  Register